Loss and Gain

Dancing in the rain
Screaming out your name
Burning bright inside
What’s in life… left to find?

The joy of your love
The pain of your touch
Breaking apart inside
Where in the world I’ll find myself?

Loss and gain
The balance stays the same
You gave me a reason to die
Even as you made me live, not survive.

The memories of our love
That feeling, such a rush
Younger everyday,
Reborn in your grace.

An endless flight
Splashing joy in puddles of life.
Falling tears so fine.
Where have I brought myself?

Loss and gain
The balance stays the same.
You made me drown
Even as you taught me how to fly.

Loss and gain
The balance stays the same.
I take to the sky
Yet my spirit’s still tied…

Loss and gain
The balance stays the same.
Everything looks the same.
But nothing’s what it was before.


I lost the original version in a memory wipe long ago. This is much smaller and much different but I think that it has potential as well.

Leave a Reply

