The Journey Through the Night

The world turns dark
And still I carry on.
The roads fade away and
Yet I must go on.

The black sky threatens to swallow
And the ground seems to desire the same.
This task of mine is a weight I must bear
And it feels like standing in a flame.

The body is broken and the spirit is gone.
This weary soul still must not stall.
For the eyes long dry and mouths long silent
Still enslave me to their every beck and call.

Oh I remember the yesteryears,
When I was free as a bird in the open sky.
But the free me never realized that
That moment of promise was my goodbye.

The burden saps my strength and
Even the willpower is now dying.
But the journey is still far from over
And though I wish to, there’s no use in lying.

Oh one mistake was all it took
As it was enough for everything to come falling down.
I fought, I lied, I wept, I begged
But none helped, and all laughed like I was a clown.

The dark is quiet, as it watches me yet again
And I walk on, trying to ignore that I’m tired.
But for me there’s no end in sight
Since that’s what the fate had desired.

The screams, the cries, the pain, the anguish
It burned me from the inside.
As I was forced to watch myself lose
All I had both outside and inside.

This journey of a fool’s quest
Is what life has handed me.
And I shall know no rest
Until I earn the right to be free.

The wealth, the pride, the dignity, the life
All chose to abandon my side.
Worse than an animal I then became
One trapped within a human hide.

I run, I jog, I walk, I crawl
But I cannot make myself stop.
For that’s a mercy I wasn’t bestowed
All I got is a climb, with no way to the top.

The dark soon leaves, bored with me again
And the world takes a new breath of life.
And still I try and still I fail, to understand
How the innocent promise of being successful earned me this life.

Leave a Reply

