Forgotten Posts: Writing 201 Poetry, Day 9: Landscape

I have to say. Doing Found Poetry is probably the hardest of all the poetry forms I tackled only because of the infinite options I have. So, I decided I will attempt the other two parts of the prompt later. I’ll have Landscape done now.

Water smashes the dock

Seagulls flying by

Sailors shout curses

As we say goodbye.

To you, I wish a bon voyage,

Sail proud and high,

Never lose your heart.

I trust you to return,

and with this trust, I’ll wait,

Growing fonder while apart.

The storm may fall,

Cruel winds may try,

I know you’ll prevail,

Rise in the clear sky.

Have hope in your heart,

And fight with all you’ve got.

Your journey’s to begin

Such a wonderful life you’ve got.

Shining in the sunset,

Light in the night,

Strong in the storms,

Always shining bright.

Fight, survive, help, be helped,

Do it all and go on.

The folks you chose at your side,

Take care of issues together head on.

This wooden home,

So majestic, so proud.

Keep her safe, and so shall she

Keep you safe and sound.

Farewell, my traveler,

May you see sights unseen.

May you bask in stranger sunlights.

For I expect tales of everywhere you’ve been.

I bide you farewell, o traveler,

Knowing you’ll one day return.

And we’ll continue from here on.

My world will move again,

And I will be awaken from this stasis,

With you, I’ll then carry on.

All except the last stanza can be imagined as a woman biding her sailor goodbye. The last one is after he’s out of earshot.

Leave a Reply

