Attempting a double acrostic – Still Poetry Day 3

Here’s my attempt at the double acrostic (in which the first letters of the sentences form a word and so do the last words):

Despite resistance, he fell for her,

Every passing moment, after all, had a reason to.

And she loved him too, choosing him over the masses,

Never away for too long, he’s her caro and she’s his cara.

I know the names aren’t Italian but that’s the best I could manage. It is a surprise how quickly the mind goes blank when looking for a specific word (in my case, it was a word ending with -a. So I made them Italian because ‘cara’ was the first word that came to mind.) I couldn’t identify an internal rhyme here this time.

3 thoughts on “Attempting a double acrostic – Still Poetry Day 3

  1. Well done on doing the double, there’s no way I could’ve attempted that, it would’ve driven me crazy. You’ve done a great job though, I like that it doesn’t read like you’ve been trying to fit it into the chosen letters, which is half the battle I think!

    1. Thanks for the compliment. I had been going with different words originally but couldn’t make them work. So I just let the words flow and only slightly maneuvered them to get those eight letters in place. I am glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

