[ABANDONED] CODENAME HOVER

In the [ABANDONED] zone, I have talked of two cancelled products so far. The first was the ‘CODENAME REJUVENATION’, a project that though possible, was beyond my capabilities. I had done the most I could do in that case and shared the idea on the web for any interested personality to read and share (and implement, if possible). The second was the ‘PROJECT REHABILITATION’, a fantastical project that I had come up with to deal with the two major present-day global issues of overpopulation and promotion of renewable sources of energy together. This time, I’m guilty  to admit, that the present entry is neither too fantastical nor too hard, if only I had tried.

And so, I welcome you to the 22nd post of Narrating The Dream, and the 3rd in the [ABANDONED] Zone where I will discuss the idea I had for a hoverboard, aptly titled (at least in my opinion) ‘CODENAME HOVER’.

Inspiration for the next big thing can come from anywhere. A movie, a book, a play or even a video game. My idea of having a hoverboard came from ‘Unreal Tournament 3’ by Epic Games. One of the gadgets used in this futuristic game was the ‘hoverboard’ that we could direct with our feet and even use something resembling a ‘grapple’ to latch onto vehicles and gain speed. The latching on and using its speed to launch itself further isn’t really as useful (or safe) as it may sound and I also have no idea on how to go for that without coming up with a solution that doesn’t risk damaging the ‘latching point’ portion of the vehicle. Though what did get my attention was the hoverboard portion, which floated almost a feet above the ground and also offered an ability to jump. (COOL!)

Surprisingly, it didn’t take much to come up with a basic design outline. I will try my best to explain it properly. The board portion (whose construction I will get to in a moment) would have four (or probably eight, for comfort) ‘pressure rings’ at the base, or more exactly, hanging just below the base. Now, I know there has to be an official name for these things but I am unaware of that. These ‘pressure rings’ would be surface sensitive, exerting some amount of pressure (air most likely) against the ground to be lifted off it. It wouldn’t be too low so that it falls down when a rider mounts it but it isn’t too high so that it flies off into the skies when the riders gets off. This portion would have required quite a lot of trial-and-error experimentation. I believe that there might be products like this in the market presently (though heavily priced, I suspect). The testing portion would have to be done on an ordinary skateboard (with the wheels removed from the base) with an attached battery as power source. My plans for the end product once again slightly veered off into the fantastical in designing the structure of board.

The outer layer would have been a wooden (or maybe a strong polymer) casing to protect the fragile contents inside. The whole gadget was supposed to work on a source of energy that could be found almost everywhere and so I was planning to turn to solar energy yet again. (Though there would have been an electrical charging port as well for cloudy days.) This would have meant that the board would have housed the entire machinery (except the solar plates) for harnessing the solar energy along with a battery to store the surplus charge. And via wiring done inside the casing, it would have been connected to the ‘pressure rings’ at the base so as to power them without getting in their way. I have already mentioned that an electrical charging spot would have been added as well, depending on the most suitable place for it. The third thing coming out of it would have been a retractable plate that would have contained the solar plates for charging via solar energy. If there had still been some space left, I would have also preferred to add a ‘collision detector’ so that it would slow down in cases of impending collision. And now, we come to the navigation details.

The navigation portion would have required a lot of skill and surfing knowledge. Because in a way, that’s what this hoverboard would feel like in motion and every pressure applied on the board would affect the direction and speed of its movement. Increasing the pressure sideways would have made it tilt, pressure on the back would have slowed it down and it would have speed up if the pressure was applied on the front. To turn left or right, one would have to apply pressure in a forward diagonal direction (lean forwards and slightly to the side as well at the same time).

I’m really not sure if I am explaining this well. Well, if I am not, then do comment so and I will try to clarify more. And that’s it. So, what do you think? Do you think I got everything and is it really possible to build one? In this case, I do not mind if you do as long as I get my rightfully deserved credit as well. And if you do build one, know that I want to buy one as well.

Leave a Reply

