Nightmares

Nightmares are the unpleasant products of our subconscious when we sleep. At least, this is how I will define it. I’m not here to discuss why it happens or how it happens. I’m not a scientist or researching trying to unlock such mysteries of the brain (no offense intended). I’m not going to talk about what causes them. I’m just going to discuss the impact they leave behind. So, welcome to this newest post of Narrating The Dream. Only this time, it’s nightmares we’re talking about.

What are nightmares usually? Dreams filled with a negative emotion, usually pain and sadness and guilt. These could be of losing something(s) and/or someone(s) close to you, failure in something that you have been preparing for quite some time now or just a meaningless dream filled with a dark sense of dread and despair. And they are so powerful that the instant you wake up, and you always wake up instantly and never slowly from these, you are in shock from the transition. And you always seek comfort. At least until the demons go away from the shadows. And if you are lucky, they won’t come back tonight or tomorrow but after a long time – it could be months, weeks or even days – just when you have dropped your guard against them, they will come again. It’s a vicious cycle. And though I haven’t ever tried it personally, I hope that ‘lucid dreaming‘ is the cure. (The link is to a different web blog. It isn’t a spam site or anything malicious and has lots of stuff to explore.)

Now, it is believed that dreams and nightmares are the results of our imagination, fueled by our thoughts before going to bed and our stress. Does having a nightmare means that our mind is twisted and crazy? Probably yes, but then we all are already crazy in our own ways, aren’t we? It is, in a way (or more likely, in every way), our worst fear playing out in front of our ‘eyes’. But be grateful that, unless fueled by your awakened mind, once you wake up, it will fade away in fifteen seconds. But use it to bask in the comfort of those who care about you (that is, your family and friends – preferably those in the next room) and use it to re-evaluate your priorities.

So why am I talking about nightmares? Simple: I had one. And I was terrified. Yes, terrified. Not scared. Fearful or any other such measly words.Terrified is terrified. Why? I have no idea why I had the nightmare but the reason it succeeded in getting to me was because I couldn’t help my loved ones and had to go on to find out the ‘why’ (which now seems illogical but then was scary.) I won’t go into details here, because it’s private. And also because I would rather not let even an inch of that terror get to me again.

But you know what else my mind pointed out while typing this post? The nightmare ‘boosted’ my imagination. I don’t appreciate the method but the result was that, for the few minutes I was in shock, my mind kept going to scenarios on which to explain the path my imagination took. (Why ‘event A’ happened? Why ‘event B’ followed ‘event A’ and not some other ‘event C’? And so on.)

I know it. My mind is crazy. But as I said before, aren’t we all a little crazy?

Leave a Reply

